Flash News
Mail Instagram YouTube YouTube

QNHS overall champ anew in campus journalism tilt

 by John A. Bello

LUCENA CITY - Quezon National High School (QNHS) is at the top heap for being the overall champion (secondary level) in the recently-concluded 2018 DIVISION SCHOOLS PRESS Conference for its twin official publications, The COCONUT and Ang NIYOG.

The event, held at Sevilla’s Resort in Bgy. Domoit here on Sept. 16-18, was participated in by several public high schools in Quezon province.

Joanne Veronica Bello, Gr. 8 student of Quezon 
National High School wins 1st place in 2018 
Division School Press Conference Collaborative 
and Desktop Publishing English Feature Writing 
Category held on Sept. 16-18 at Sevilla Resort, 
Bgy. Domoit, Lucena city. With Bello is Aluinda 
Puno, adviser of The Coconut school newspaper. 
Bello is the youngest daughter of ST Editor-in-chief 
and Opinion Columnist John Bello.
The yearly journalistic competition aims to express views and opinions through varied journalistic forms and strategies, showcase journalistic competence in the individual and group categories and elevate the standards of campus journalism in the schools division of Quezon.
One of the winning campus journalists is Joanne Veronica Bello, Gr. 8 student of Special Program for Journalism of QNHS and daughter of John Bello, news correspondent of national newspaper Business Mirror and Opinion Columnist for local weekly newspapers Sentinel Times and Quezon Chronos.
Here are the various categories won by the QNHS campus journalists:


News Writing:
English- Rosette Gwyneth R. Banton- 1st place 
Filipino- Jermaine Angelo D. Abcede- 2nd place
Feature Writing:
English- Xyla Agatha A. Siman- 7th place
Editorial Writing:
English- Vinzen Josh L. Borja- 1st place
Filipino- Dean Gabriel C. Amarillas- 2nd place
Science & Health Writing:
English- Princess Ranella C. Garay- 1st place
Filipino- Maria Rosario Z. Aureada- 3rd place
Sports Writing:
English- Carl Renzo C. Oracion- 2nd place
Filipino- Manuel Arthur S. Machete- 2nd place
Copyreading & Headline Writing:
English- Wendy Rose C. Diaz- 2nd place
Filipino- Rizza D. Alipao- 4th place
English- Greison Mcverl V. Ortega- 7th place
Filipino- Allen Rafael J. Ocampo- 4th place


Collaborative and Desktop Publishing (English)- Best Group
Best Layout & Page Design: Danielle Erika C. Lupena
2nd Best News Page: Joana C. Casaldan
Best Editorial Page: Amraphelle E. De Villa
Best Cartoon: Alyssa M. De Ramos...Turn to p/4
Best Features Page: Joanne Veronica R. Bello
Best Sports Sports Page: Rajzaiken J. Anda
3rd Best Photos: Cindy Aira A. Espinola

Collaborative Publishing (Filipino)- 2nd Best Group

2nd Best Layout & Page Design: Kelvyn Aron L. Manalo
3rd Best News Page: Darice Marielle G. Cedaria
3rd Best Editorial Page: Leanne Kim D. Oca
2nd Best Features Page: Meah Nadine A. Villareal
Best Sports Page: Paul John M. Palapag
Editorial cartoonist: Rose Anjannette R. Ranuda
Photojournalist: Xyrene Lian A. McVey-Hally
Radio Broadcasting & Scriptwriting (English)- Best Group
Best Anchor - Kurt Nathaniel C. Baligod
Best News Presenter - Yubert Ivan M. Comia
2nd Best News Presenter - Mark Andrei Casiño
3rd Best News Presenter - Geophny Gyves O. Ongwico
4th Best News Presenter - Gabriel Louis Simon E. Araya
Best Infomercial; Best in Script - Maria Estrella Rosales
Best in Technical Application - Mikaela Eunice R. Yangat
Radio Broadcasting & Scriptwriting (Filipino)- 2nd Best Group
Best Anchor - Raphael Allen M. Zara
3rd Best News Presenter -
Lyca Mae F. Penarejo
2nd Best Infomercial - Franco Aaron C. Reyes
3rd Best in Script -
Samantha Guia L. Simene
2nd Best in Technical Application - Anjela Mariz Q. Salcedo
Anchor: Lianna Francesca M. Jalbuena
News Presenter: Aude H. Quirante
TV Broadcasting (English)- Best Group
Best Anchor - Joanne C. Tamondong
Best Field Reporter - Angelli Marhiz V. Maestro
2nd Best Field Reporter - Isabella Ann A. Sanchez
3rd Best Field Reporter - Jem Pauline J. Caballas
Best in Script - Marian Rose A. Zoleta
Best Devcom Specialist - Grechelle Ann U. Boneo
Best Video and Graphics Editor - Jerome L. Iporac
TV Broadcasting (Filipino)- Best Group
2nd Best Anchor - Jholy Veatrix I. Laborte
Best Field Reporter - Thalia Cecille A. Llanera
2nd Best Field Reporter - Junor Mae A. Chumacera
Best in Script - Selwyn James De Castro
Best Devcom Specialist - Elvin A. Bartolo
Best Video and Graphics Editor - Fate Jervylaine P. Liu
Anchor: Julian Carl Colilap
The school paper advisers who guided and trained the QNHS journos are Ian Benedict Roxas, Art Angelo Enelo, Arlene Aurin-Aliento, Aluinda Puno, Michael Gerona, Madel Merjilla Patal, Chona De Ramos, RubyRose Baldovino, Alvin Patal, Emely Magpantay, Vanessa Ella ga and Ramonito Elumbaring.


Post a Comment